Carson-Newman University celebrates first generation college students


At the close of the spring semester, Carson-Newman University celebrated first-generation college students during its annual Tri-Alpha national honor society induction. The Delta Psi chapter inducted 15 new student members along with 14 faculty and staff members. Tri-Alpha is a first-generation honor society which honors the academic achievements of first-generation students, faculty and staff.

 Tri-Alpha inductees for 2024:


Mason Batts, Senior- Corryton, TN

Lexiss Bowen, Senior- Dandridge, TN

Zachary Byrd, Senior- Rutledge, TN

Jianbo Chen, Sophomore- Sevierville, TN

Ashley Collins, Senior- Kodak, TN

Marcie Day, Junior- White Pine, TN

Kaitlyn Denton, Sophomore- Sevierville, TN

Maggie Hope, Sophomore- Maryville, TN

Moriah Huss, Senior- Cosby, TN

Tylor Rivera-Ratliff, Junior- Pikeville, KY

I’ana Roberts, Junior- Knoxville, TN

Macie Smith, Senior- Knoxville, TN

Audrey Staggs, Graduate Student- Milan, TN

Morgan Sykes, Junior- Rutledge, TN

Fortune Woods, Senior- Hammond, IN



 Dr. Steve A. Davidson

Dr. Stephen Joiner

Dr. Andrew King

George Miller

Dr. Jeana Partin

Dr. Kara E. Stooksbury

Dr. Philip Young


Caleb Dean

Tammy Hickle

Claudia Pope

Matt Pope

Tina Rich

Mackenzie Smith

Gloria Walker