Scout Event Honors Senator With Council’s Highest Alumni Honor

Distinguished Eagle Scout Senator Lamar Alexander was given the first Council Alumnus of the Year Award at a banquet held last Friday at Rothschild’s. This is the National Scouting Alumni Association’s highest council recognition. The award was established to recognize alumni of the Boy Scouts of America who, over a sustained period of time, have used the skills and values they learned through their association with Scouting to make significant and long-lasting contributions to their local communities through their careers, avocations, and Scouting. That certainly describes Senator Alexander, who spoke at the event.


The event also featured the presentation of the coveted Silver Beaver Award to a select group of deserving individuals who have distinguished themselves in their service to youth.  Each year the Great Smoky Mountain Council, by authority of the National Court of Honor of the Boy Scouts of America chooses individuals to receive this honor, the highest award a local council can bestow upon an adult volunteer.


Those who were honored include:  Jim Alsip, Jessica Bivens, Robert Farmer, Samuel Furrow, Frank Jennings, Joel Searfoss, Gary Sharp, and Denise Weismuller.


Also being honored was the Dr. Joseph E. Johnson 2015 Class of Eagle Scouts.  Each year the Eagle Scout class is named in honor or someone who has provided significant and exceptional service to the Scouts.