State Senator Massey joins Johnson University’s Templar School of Education in celebrating alumni who have excelled in the field of teaching

On Monday, May 9th, the Johnson University community and distinguished guests gathered to celebrate the accomplishments of thirteen Templar School of Education alumni from the Knoxville
area who were awarded 2016 Teacher of the Year by schools and districts throughout the state of Tennessee.

Three local teachers, Dr. Jan Moore, Principal of Seymour Primary School; Dr. LeRoy Beam, Headmaster at The King’s Academy; and Dr. Brenda Dean, former Deputy Superintendent of Hamblen County Schools were also inducted into the Johnson University Templar School Hall of Fame. These teachers were honored for their service and dedication to their students.

State Senator Becky Massey awarded participants in the ceremony with a certificate thanking them for their dedication to the pursuit of quality education in the state of Tennessee. Senator Massey
enjoyed the evening saying, “It is always an honor to participate in events where education is highlighted, and recognition and awards are given to those who step above and beyond to educate
Tennessee’s future leaders—our children.”

Johnson University’s Templar School of Education has been ranked number 1 in the state of Tennessee for both its undergraduate and graduate Teacher Education programs by The University also ranked 17th on a national list of “50 Most Affordable Small Colleges for a Master’s in Education” by Top Education Degrees.

Dr. Roy Miller, who has led the Templar School of Education as Dean since the summer of 2015, said of the evening, “The Johnson University Templar School of Education banquet allows school
partners, faculty, staff, and alumni an opportunity to celebrate a culmination of great work and successes that have occurred during the 2015–16 school year. It is a great joy to be able to honor all
that our graduates have achieved.”