Junior commissioners graduate inaugural program

By Mike Steely

Knox County’s Junior Commission appeared before the Knox County Commission meeting last week and Commissioner Larsen Jay led the graduation ceremony.

The students recognized and honored (pictured above with county commission) were Caroline Scoonover (West High School), Gabriela Sánchez Benítez (Fulton High School), Dain Shelton (Hardin Valley Academy), Ethan Coffey (Christian Academy of Knoxville), Anand Patel (Farragut High School), McKayla Muse (HomeLife Academy), Lily Hutchison (Halls High School), Madelyn Dyer (Berean Christian School), Emily Child (South Doyle High School), Ella Parker (Bearden High School), and Maya Farrar (Farragut High School.)

The junior and senior high school students graduated from the first annual Knox County Junior Commission program and were charged with promoting civic engagement and sharing the importance of local government among their peers.