By Steve Williams

Kaden Kellar of Hardin Valley Academy has been named the Metro Knoxville Cross Country Coaches Association’s Runner of the Year for boys.

The girls’ honoree is Maryville’s Andie Marie Jones.

Bryan Brown of Hardin Valley Academy was selected Coach of the Year.

The All-Metro Knoxville teams also were announced.

The boys’ honorees include Alex Brittain (HVA), Trevor Coggin (Farragut), Nate Hillis (HVA), Abdul Jaber (Alcoa), Macguire Jones (Maryville), Kaden Keller (HVA), Zimri Kuhn (Knoxville Ambassadors Home School), Mitchell McCown (HVA), Andrew Schultz (HVA) and Riley Smith (Knoxville Catholic).

Making up the All-Metro Knoxville girls’ team are Maddie Archdale (HVA), Lexi Foley (Farragut), Anna Graves (Webb), Melanie Hayman (Farragut), Avery Holdsworth (HVA), Camryn Johnson (Farragut), Andie Marie Jones (Maryville), Grace Lathrop (Farragut), Kennedy Reynolds (Farragut) and Savannah Rivera (Knoxville Ambassadors Home School).

BOWLING: Bearden Coach Jennifer Allen says the regular season is winding down and this will be the last week of competition. This week is the last of the regular season.       

Bearden is in first place among the boys, while Hardin Valley is in second, said Allen. The Bulldogs and Hawks are scheduled to face each other Tuesday at Oak Ridge.

Karns’ teams are new on the bowling scene this year.

Post-season tournament will start after the holidays.

MR. FOOTBALL: Knox County has two finalists this year – Kalib Fortner of Central in Class 5A and JD Dunn of CAK in Division II-AA. Mr. Football winners will be announced Tuesday.

GCA OPENING: Grace Christian Athletic Director Shawn Mehegan said last week the school is still “working on” filling its football head coaching vacancy.

“We’re in the interview process,” he said. “We have a lot applying.”

MAC RESULTS: The All-MAC Conference football team (local Middle School age conference) defeated Team Indiana 22-14 in the Battle in Rocky Top tournament’s 8th Grade American Division, but lost to the Warren Central Warriors 12-6 in the semifinals.

The Warriors went on to win the title 22-20 over the NKY Bengals.

The MAC team plays its games Nov. 21 and 22 at Webb School.

CAK SIGNEES: Four CAK baseball players signed scholarship papers recently.

Zach Bergstrom will be going to play college ball at Emmanuel College, Elijah Dew at Walters State, Andrew Kribbs at Tennessee and JD Price at Western Carolina.

Kribbs was an All-District player in 2019 and is a 2021 pre-season All-American for Under Armour Baseball Factory.

The Warriors won state titles in 2018 and 2019 before the 2020 season was shut down by the coronavirus.