By Mike Steely
The race for Knox County Law Director in the Republican primary Tuesday was a blow out for David Buuck. The deputy law director pulled 60% of the vote over Cathy Quist Shanks.
Buuck, in his first try at elected office, was backed by Knox County Law Director Richard (Bud) Armstrong and many elected party office holders. He stood with Armstrong in suing the Retirement and Pension Board and believes the position of law director should be elected and not appointed by the county mayor.
He will face Attorney Jackson Fenner in the August general election. Fenner is running as an Independent.
Incumbent Assessor of Property Director John R. Whitehead easily defeated Tina Marshall. Both are Republicans and Whitehead got 71.4% of the primary vote. There is no opposition in that race in August.
Appointed Criminal Court Judge Kyle Hixson captured 67.2% against Wesley Stone.
Eric Lutton defeated Rhonda Lee with 54.3% in the Republican primary for public defender. Lutton will face Sherif Guindi, an Independent, in the August general election.

In the commission primary results, Kyle Ward defeated Scott Broyles in the District 4 Republican race and will face Democrat Todd Frommeyer. The winner will replace Commission Chairman Hugh Nystrom who chose not to seek re-election.
Commissioner John Schoonmaker won his primary by defeating fellow Republican Clayton Wood. Schoonmaker will face Kimberly Peterson, a Democrat, for the District 5 seat in the general election.
In District 2, Cortney Durrett, a Democrat, will face Republican Grant Rosenberg in the general to replace Michele Carringer, who did not seek re-election to run for retiring Representative Bill Dunn’s seat.
Dr. Dasha Lundy defeated District 1 Commissioner Evelyn Gill in Tuesday’s Democratic primary. She will face Independent Reginald Jackson in the August General Election.
Three county commissioners faced no party opposition nor Democratic challengers. Republican incumbents Richie Beeler and Carson Dailey will be joined on the body by former school board member Terry Hill as the new District 6 member. She replaces Commissioner Brad Anders who is term limited.