By Mike Steely

The East Tennessee PBS Scholar’s Bowl begins Monday at 5:30 on  Public Broadcasting and every week at that time. The Scholar’s Bowl pits high school students from across the region and 12 school sent teams to compete.

The Bowl showcases top academic students and promotes scholastic excellence. Teams are made up of starters and some alternate players. Questions are on the subjects of literature, language, sciences, art, math, geography, government, music, sports, history, etc. Winning teams advance to round 32, 16,8, 4 and then the final two compete for the Frank Miller Memorial Trophy and a $1,000 cash award.

Frank Murphy returns for his 4th season to host the show.