On Friday, September 6, the Tennessee Highway Safety Office recognized 44 law enforcement agencies during its 15th Annual Law Enforcement Challenge. This year, 55 Law Enforcement Challenge applications were submitted: 16 from West Tennessee, 12 from Middle Tennessee, 10 from East Tennessee, nine from the Cumberland Region, and one submission from each of the Tennessee Highway Patrol districts. Award winners are listed as follows. For more information, please visit www.tnlifesaverschallenge.com.


1-10 Officers Category


  • 1st Place: Benton Police Department
  • 2nd Place: Dover Police Department
  • 3rd Place: Chapel Hill Police Department


11-25 Officers Category


  • 1st Place: Bolivar Police Department
  • 2nd Place: White House Police Department
  • 3rd Place: Fairfield Glade Police Department


26-45 Officers Category


  • 1st Place: Martin Police Department
  • 2nd Place: Lexington Police Department
  • 3rd Place:  Crossville Police Department


46-75 Officers Category


  • 1st Place: Tipton County Sheriff’s Office
  • 2nd Place: Greene County Sheriff’s Office
  • 3rd Place: Maryville Police Department


76-100 Officers Category


  • 1st Place: Sumner County Sheriff’s Office
  • 2nd Place: Fort Campbell Police Department


101-200 Officers Category


  • 1st Place: Kingsport Police Department
  • 2nd Place: Collierville Police Department
  • 3rd Place: Blount County Sheriff’s Office


201-500 Officers Category


  • 1st Place: Rutherford County Sheriff’s Office
  • 2nd Place: Clarksville Police Department


501 or More Officers Category


  • 1st Place: Shelby County Sheriff’s Office
  • 2nd Place: Metro Nashville Police Department


Tennessee Highway Patrol Districts Category


  • 1st Place: District 6 – Cookeville
  • 2nd Place: District 5 – Fall Branch
  • 3rd Place: District 1 – Knoxville


University Police Category


  • 1st Place: University of Tennessee Knoxville Police Department
  • 2nd Place: Austin Peay State University Police Department


Rookie of the Year


  • Chapel Hill Police Department


Child Passenger Safety Award


  • Chapel Hill Police Department


Occupant Protection Award


  • Tipton County Sheriff’s Office


Impaired Driving Awareness Award


  • Benton Police Department


Speed Awareness Award


  • Clarksville Police Department


Underage Alcohol Prevention Award


  • Crossville Police Department


Technology Award


  • Bartlett Police Department


Bicycle & Pedestrian Safety Award


  • White House Police Department


Commercial Motor Vehicle Enforcement Award


  • Tennessee Highway Patrol District 7 – Lawrenceburg


Motorcycle Safety Award


  • Gallatin Police Department


Distracted Driving Award


  • Clarksville Police Department


Distracted Driving Award


  • Tennessee Highway Patrol District 6 – Cookeville


Championship Award


  • Benton Police Department


Director’s Cup Award


  • Benton Police Department


Beyond the Traffic Stop


  • Deputy Billy Walters, Greene County Sheriff’s Office


Law Enforcement Challenge Vehicle


  • Rutherford County Sheriff’s Office


SAFE Campaign Vehicle


  • Chattanooga Police Department