By Ken Lay

Six aspiring teachers received scholarships last week at the annual Knox County Retired Teachers Association Scholarship Foundation Awards Ceremony and Luncheon.

The event was held at the Foundry at The World’s Fair Site Thursday.

Each of the recipients were students at the University of Tennessee in 2019 and the annual scholarships were increased from $1,000 to $1,500 this years and those awards are designed to help students with their respective expenses while they serve as interns or student teachers.

The Tom Underwood Scholarship was awarded to Sarah Benson and presented by Nancy Gerhardt.

The Reuben and Pat Hunter Scholarship went to Katarina Steffan and was presented by David Sincerbox.

Kristine Andersen received the Colleen Bennett Scholarship, which was presented by Connie Silvey.

The Bill Crosland Scholarship, presented by Anne Loy, was awarded to David Leventhal.

The Betty Berry Scholarship was awarded to Cassandra Dean. It was presented by Judy Fleenor.

The Cindi Fuller Schowalter Scholarship, presented by Vicki Andrews and Don Loy, was awarded to Sarah Wade.