Dr. David Eubanks, who served as president of Johnson University for 39 years, has accepted the position of acting Chief Operating Officer at Florida Christian College in Kissimmee, Florida, effective April 8, 2013. Eubanks brings a wealth of knowledge and experience to this leadership role. During his time at Johnson, Eubanks was instrumental in gaining Johnson’s accreditation, growing enrollment, adding graduate programs, and expanding campus facilities.

Since January of this year, the Board of Trustees of Johnson University have been pursuing a possible merger with Florida Christian College pending approval by accrediting associations including the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) and the Association of Biblical Higher Education (ABHE). The earliest possible date for such accrediting association approval is the middle of June 2013, after which more information will be released.

“Dr. Eubanks is highly respected in the Christian higher education community, and I know he will be a great asset to Florida Christian College. I look forward to working with him as we continue pursuing this possible merger,” said Dr. Gary Weedman, President of Johnson University.

A 1957 graduate of Johnson University, Eubanks also holds a Ph.D. in history from the University of Tennessee. He is a published author and an avid world traveler. After retiring from his presidency at Johnson University in 2007, Eubanks was named President Emeritus and has traveled extensively as an ambassador for the University. Eubanks will be filling the role in Florida left open by the resignation of current Florida Christian College President Bill Behrman.

Johnson University offers more than 35 accredited bachelor’s, master’s and Ph.D. programs – all with a biblical core – designed to equip individuals for Christian ministry and other strategic vocations to extend the kingdom of God. Johnson University, formerly Johnson Bible College, was founded in 1893 in Knoxville, Tennessee. Johnson currently has an enrollment of 954 students.