KTA to elect officers

By Mike Steely

The Knoxville Transit Authority, made up of members appointed by the city mayor, will elect a new chair, vice-chair, and a recording secretary in their January meeting. In a brief regular meeting Thursday the authority voted to select a nominating committee to include members Karen Eberle, Mark Hairr and Councilman Dan Brown.

KTA attorney John Lawhorn said he would set up a meeting of the committee, possibly at the Transit Authority meeting room or the small assembly room at the City-County building. He and member Hubert Smith agreed that the last year’s nominating meeting was not announce or open to the public but this year the meeting date and time will be published and open.

Smith announced at the meeting that he would like to be considered for the chairman position.

The officers are elected for one year terms and the chair and vice-chair may serve two consecutive terms. Current chair, Renee Hoyos, and vice-chair, Jim Richards, are term limited.

The authority heard that revenue is up and, because of increased riders and the cost of fuel, expenses are down. Changes have been implemented to deal with the ongoing construction on Gay Street and trolley stops moved near Gay and Church.